Connect or Follow?

How to switch your LinkedIn Button from ‘Connect’ to Follow’

Full details of how to change your LinkedIn button from connect to follow

LinkedIn now gives you the option to display a 'Follow' button as the main button call to action on your profile page, as opposed to the current 'Connect' default.

This has been the main option for high profile users who are in LinkedIn's 'inFluencer' program for some time, but now, all users will be able to do the same.

To quote LinkedIn:

"When members follow you, they are more likely to see your content in their feed. This allows members to stay up to date with topics they care about and join your conversation. We've heard from you that it can be overwhelming to receive a large volume of connection requests from people you do not know. This option makes it easy to establish a relationship and share your insights with people who are interested in what you have to say."

How to make the switch from connect to follow

Desktop: Go to your Privacy Settings and select the tab entitled 'Visibility' and choose the second sub-menu 'Visibility of your LinkedIn activity'. Then choose the last option on the right of the menu entitled 'Followers' and click to expand this.

Under the sub-heading 'Make follow primary' you will be presented with a simple Yes/ No option. Set to Yes to make the 'Follow' button appear, replacing the default 'Connect' button.

A shortcut to this setting in LinkedIn is https://www.linkedin.com/mypreferences/d/followed

How to change the Connect button to a Follow button in LinkedIn

How to change the Connect button to a Follow button in LinkedIn

Below, here's what your profile will look like with 'Follow' as a default.

To connect, LinkedIn users have to click the 'More...' button and choose from the dropdown menu.

You'll also see that I also have the option open to accept messages from anyone on LinkedIn (even if they are not connections) as I have a Premium account and have activated this choice.

 

How to connect when 'follow' is the default button

How to connect when 'follow' is the default button

 

 

Follow is the default with 'Creator Mode' switched on

You will also automatically change your button from connect to follow if you select to activate LinkedIn's Creator Mode. This mode is designed to showcase your content as a contributor on LinkedIn. Sarah Clay has written a very useful article outlining whether Linked Creator mode is right for you.

Who is David Petherick?

Doctor David Petherick has responded to thousands of calls from LinkedIn users around the world since 2006, coaching them through the most effective LinkedIn revamps, sharper profile writing, stronger job applications and more.

You can view his choice of LinkedIn Profile Services here, or make an appointment for a free ten-minute microsurgery via Zoom or Skype here.

About David Petherick

The Doctor is In. I have treated over 33,826 LinkedIn problems for CEOs, professionals and startups since 2006. You'll know by the end of our first free consultation if I can help you. We just need 10 minutes to diagnose and confirm if we're a good fit. Follow me on Twitter at @petherick.